Teacher Training for Upper Secondary Schools - Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education

Program Information

Information on the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education is available on the following website (German only):

Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft
Abteilung Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung Maturitätsschulen
Kantonsschulstrasse 3
8001 Zurich
Phone 044 634 66 55
E-mail

Admission Requirements

UZH Students

Students who have already graduated from the University of Zurich, or are currently enrolled in a Master's program at the University of Zurich and want also to be enrolled in the teacher training program have to submit an application via the Application Portal.

Student who are interested in starting the teacher training program directly after completing their Master's program at the University of Zurich have to submit a request for changing the degree program in the Semester Enrollment. If you do not successfully complete your Master's program, admission to the teacher training program will be rescinded.

Students from Other Institutes of Higher Education

Students must hold a Master’s degree or the equivalent from a university that is recognized by the University of Zurich and in the subject or subjects that they want to teach. The Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Schools at the University of Zurich can be obtained for the following subject: Biology, Chemistry, Economics and Law, English, French, Geography, German, Greek, History, Informatics, Italian, Latin, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Psychology/Pedagogy, Religion, Rhaeto-Romanic, Russian, Spanish.

Admissions Policy

The following types of admission to the teacher training program are given:

  • Direct admission, with no restrictions or further conditions.
  • Admission with restrictions, if you are required to fulfill certain conditions while working towards your Teaching Diploma.
  • Conditional admission, if you are required to fulfill certain conditions before you begin your teacher training program. You have a total of four semesters to complete the requirements. Please note that during this period you may only earn the required ECTS credits. You are not allowed to acquire credits towards a degree.
  • Admission with conditions and restrictions: The requirements above apply.
  • Denial of Admission: In the case that your qualification does not meet the UZH admission requirements for the teacher training program.

How to Apply

You can find all the details on applying to UZH here Application Procedure. Please be sure to note the deadline for submission Application Deadline.

Ausbildung von Lehrpersonen für Maturitätsschulen - Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen

Informationen zum Studium

Für Informationen zum Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen und zum Studiumsinhalt wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an folgende Stelle:

Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft
Abteilung Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung Maturitätsschulen
Kantonsschulstrasse 3
8001 Zürich
Tel: 044 634 66 55
E-Mail

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Studierende der UZH

Wer an der Universität Zürich ein Studium abgeschlossen hat oder gegenwärtig im Masterstudium eingeschrieben ist und zusätzlich mit dem Lehrdiplomstudium beginnen möchte, muss sich über das Bewerbungsportal der UZH für das Lehrdiplomstudium bewerben.

Wer das Masterstudium an der Universität Zürich abschliesst und direkt anschliessend mit dem Lehrdiplomstudium beginnen möchte, muss über die Semestereinschreibung einen Studiengangswechsel zum Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen beantragen. Erlangen Sie den Masterabschluss nicht, würde eine allfällige Zulassung zum Lehrdiplomstudium zurückgezogen werden.

Studierende von anderen Hochschulen

Sie müssen bereits über einen Masterabschluss (oder ein äquivalentes Diplom) einer von der Universität Zürich anerkannten universitären Hochschule in der dem jeweiligen Unterrichtsfach entsprechenden Fachwissenschaft verfügen. Das Lehrdiplomstudium ist an der Universität Zürich für folgende Unterrichtsfächer möglich: Biologie, Chemie, Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Geographie, Geschichte, Griechisch, Informatik, Italienisch, Latein, Mathematik, Philosophie, Physik, Psychologie/Pädagogik, Rätoromanisch, Religion, Russisch, Spanisch, Wirtschaft und Recht.

Fachwissenschaftliche Anerkennung

Bei der Prüfung einer Bewerbung für das Lehrdiplomstudium können folgende Entscheide erteilt werden:

  • Direkte Zulassung, ohne Auflagen / ohne Bedingungen
  • Zulassung mit Auflagen, die während dem regulären Lehrdiplomstudium und spätestens bis zum Studiumsabschluss zu erfüllen sind.
  • Zulassung mit Bedingungen, die vor dem Eintritt ins reguläre Lehrdiplomstudium in einer Lehrdiplomvorbereitungsphase zu erfüllen sind. Für das Erfüllen von Bedingungen können Sie für maximal vier Semester immatrikuliert werden. In dieser Lehrdiplomvorbereitungsphase sind Sie nicht berechtigt, akademische Abschlüsse, sondern nur geforderte ECTS-Punkte zu erwerben.
  • Zulassung mit Bedingungen und Auflagen, für welche die Voraussetzungen wie oben beschrieben erfüllt werden müssen.
  • Absage, weil Ihre Vorbildung nicht zum Lehrdiplomstudium an der Universität Zürich berechtigt bzw. nicht anerkannt ist.

Bewerbungsablauf

Lesen Sie hier über den detaillierten Bewerbungsablauf und beachten Sie bitte unbedingt die Bewerbungsfristen.