Admission to a Bachelor's Program

The University of Zurich offers numerous Bachelors’ degree and study programs. Depending on the faculty and subject area, within a specific degree program you may undertake only one study program (a single-major study program), or combine two study programs (one major and one minor study program). 

You must fulfill the admission requirements to be admitted to a Bachelor’s degree program. Once you have submitted a complete application dossier, it generally takes up to three months to check that you meet these requirements. 

If you are admitted, you can only start your chosen Bachelor’s program once you have met the relevant language requirements, and providing there are no obstacles to your admission.

Admission with a Swiss Matriculation Certificate

Providing there are no obstacles to admission, the following certificates entitle the holder to be admitted to all faculties:

  • federal or Swiss-recognized maturity certificate;
  • maturity certificate from the Federal or Swiss Baccalaureate Commission (Eidgenössische bzw. Schweizerische Maturitätskommission);
  • Bachelor’s degree diploma, Master’s degree diploma, licentiate, diploma or doctorate from a Swiss university, as defined in the Federal Act on the Funding and Coordination of the Swiss Higher Education Sector;
  • degree certificate of a regular degree program lasting at least three years at a university of applied sciences or university of teacher education, as defined in the Federal Act on the Funding and Coordination of the Swiss Higher Education Sector;
  • federal professional maturity certificate or Liechtenstein professional maturity certificate recognized by the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), in combination with proof of passing supplementary examinations;
  • specialized maturity certificate recognized in all of Switzerland, in combination with proof of passing supplementary examinations.


Providing there are no obstacles to admission, the following certificates entitle the holder to be admitted to all faculties with the exception of the Faculty of Medicine and the Vetsuisse Faculty:

  • maturity certificate from the Zurich Cantonal Baccalaureate Commission (Zürcher Kantonale Maturitätskommission);
  • certificate of having passed the University of Zurich’s entrance examination;
  • specialized baccalaureate certificate in education (Lehramtsmaturitätszeugnis), and graduation certificate evidencing primary level teacher training at an “Unterseminar” college in the Canton of Zurich;
  • Swiss specialized baccalaureate in education (Schweizerische Lehramtsmaturität) and primary school teaching diploma (Primarlehrerpatent), if total education and training has lasted for at least 12.5 years (at least four of which at a secondary school);
  • teaching diploma for lower secondary level (Sekundarlehrerdiplom or Bezirkslehrerdiplom);
  • certificate of having passed the comprehensive entrance examination for a Federal Institute of Technology, providing it is no more than two years old.


Furthermore, providing there are no obstacles to admission, the commercial maturity certificate awarded by the Canton of Ticino (Attestato cantonale di maturità commerciale) entitles the holder to be admitted to the Faculty of Law and to the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.

Admission with a Non-Swiss Matriculation Certificate

Non-Swiss Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificate
The following conditions must be fulfilled for the holder of a non-Swiss upper secondary school-leaving certificate to be admitted to all faculties:

  • The sole educational objective of the upper secondary school was to prepare students to study at university level. In addition, the school-leaving certificate must represent the general higher education entrance qualification in its country of origin.
  • In terms of the educational content and duration of education, the school-leaving certificate must correspond to a Swiss maturity certificate (gymnasialer Maturitätsausweis). Details in this regard can be found in § 16 of the Admission Regulations.
  • Depending on the type of certificate, the University of Zurich may determine that the prospective student must have achieved a minimum overall grade.

A non-Swiss upper secondary school-leaving certificate gained in a signatory state to the Lisbon Recognition Convention that corresponds only partly to a Swiss upper secondary school-leaving certificate in terms of the educational content and duration of education, may still permit the holder admission to Bachelor’s study programs if they are also able to provide evidence that they have successfully completed at least two years of study (in accordance with the standard curriculum for full-time study). This academic achievement must have been earned at a state-accredited university in the relevant higher education area, pursuing a branch of study which is also offered at a Swiss university. Details in this regard can be found in § 17 of the Admission Regulations.
The University of Zurich does not recognize non-Swiss university entrance qualifications gained as the result of both general and vocational education and training, which may entitle the holder to practice a specific profession, even if they constitute a general higher education entrance qualification in their country of origin.

 

Complementary Examination set by the Swiss Higher Education Institutions (ECUS)
Anyone who holds a non-Swiss upper secondary school-leaving certificate gained in a state which has not signed the Lisbon Recognition Convention must generally also pass the complementary examination set by the Swiss higher education institutions (ECUS) to be admitted to a Bachelor’s study program. 

The complementary examination is held only once a year, in August. Applications can therefore only be considered for the Fall Semester. Students may register for this examination only via the University of Zurich, and only in connection with a present application. 


Proof of Admission
If there is a selective admission procedure for individual study programs or the whole of university study in the state which issued the upper secondary school-leaving certificate (numerus clausus, or an entrance examination, etc.), it must be provided evidence that the school-leaving certificate would entitle its holder to admission to a Bachelor’s program in the corresponding branch of study at a state-accredited university in the country of origin of the school-leaving certificate (proof of admission).

The proof of admission must apply to on-site study and must generally be issued for the same semester for which the prospective student is applying to the University of Zurich.

In the case of a non-Swiss upper secondary school-leaving certificate gained in a signatory state to the Lisbon Recognition Convention, the absence of proof of admission can be compensated for by passing the complementary examination set by the Swiss higher education institutions (ECUS). The complementary examination is held only once a year, in August. Applications can therefore only be considered for the Fall Semester. Students may register for this examination only via the University of Zurich, and only in connection with a present application. 


Country-Specific Admission Requirements
The swissuniversities website lists, for individual countries, the upper secondary school-leaving certificates and the specific prerequisites under which they permit admission to a Bachelor’s program at the University of Zurich (e.g. range of subjects, proof of admission, ECUS examination, minimum overall grade, evidence of the successful completion of at least two years of study). 

The published admission requirements are updated annually and apply exclusively to the year of study stated on the website. They refer only to upper secondary school-leaving certificates gained in accordance with the currently valid statutory provisions in the country in question. It is also assumed that the entire primary and secondary education has been completed in that country. Other admission requirements may apply in the case of older upper secondary school-leaving certificates, or if the primary and secondary education has been completed in different countries. 

On the swissuniversities website you can also find the admission requirements for the International Baccalaureate and the European Baccalaureate.

Please note that we are unable to conduct individual assessments of upper secondary school-leaving certificates in advance over the telephone, at the counter, or by e-mail, if you have not submitted an application with all of the required application documents.


Admission with a Non-Swiss Higher Education Degree
Apart from a non-Swiss upper secondary school-leaving certificate, admission to all faculties may also be granted to holders of one of the following higher education degrees:

  • Diploma from a state-accredited non-Swiss university that is recognized by the University of Zurich as equivalent to the corresponding Swiss diploma.
  • Diploma from a non-Swiss university of applied sciences or university of teacher education in a signatory state to the Lisbon Recognition Convention that is recognized by the University of Zurich as equivalent to the corresponding Swiss diploma.

Language Requirements

The main language of instruction for all Bachelor’s study programs is German, although individual modules may be offered in English or in other languages.

Foreign-language applicants must prove that they have the necessary German skills of at least level C1 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)

Evidence of the necessary German skills must be supplied prior to matriculation at the latest, in the form of a language certificate recognized by the University of Zurich, unless the applicant is exempted under the Regulations on Language Requirements from proving their language proficiency. It is advisable to submit the relevant language certificate with the application.

Obstacles to Admission

Admission to a Bachelor’s program is not possible if one of the following obstacles to admission, or other important grounds, apply:

  • Degree programs at the Faculty of Medicine and the Vetsuisse Faculty are subject to restrictions on admission. A prospective student cannot be admitted if there is no free place. Places are allocated by means of an aptitude test organized by swissuniversities. Please note the relevant application procedure.
  • Admission to a Bachelor’s study program is generally not possible if you have previously completed studies with equivalent academic content.
  • Anyone who has been definitively expelled or barred from one or more study programs at the University of Zurich or at another higher education institution is excluded from admission to the study program in question, and all study programs deemed similar by the faculty concerned, at all academic levels.

Important Information on Applying

  • In the case of many study programs, such as business and economics, informatics, and psychology, it is not possible to begin your studies in the Spring Semester. For many other study programs, a spring start is possible to only a limited extent. Therefore, before applying for the Spring Semester, please consult the relevant program regulations, or the advisory center concerned. All Bachelor’s degree and study programs can be started in the Fall Semester.
  • Before you apply, please find out about the application procedure and documents to be submitted and apply via the application portal. Please be sure to note the application deadlines
  • Please also note that as a rule, only one application per person per semester will be assessed. For this reason we would ask you to please decide on one Bachelor’s degree program, including a study program or programs, and submit only one application at a time (with the exception of applications for an alternative course of study when applying to study medicine). 
  • You will find information on the admission restrictions and the application procedure for a Bachelor’s program in medicine on our website under admission to study medicine.

Entrance Examination

Anyone who does not meet the admission requirements for a Bachelor’s program has the option to take the University of Zurich’s comprehensive entrance examination. The entrance examination is held only once a year. If the examination is passed, the prospective student may begin their studies in the Fall Semester only. 

Passing the entrance examination entitles the successful candidate to be admitted to all faculties at the University of Zurich, with the exception of the Faculty of Medicine and the Vetsuisse Faculty.

Transfer of Credits

If you have already begun your Bachelor’s program at another university and wish to continue your studies at the University of Zurich, once you have received the decision on admission, you can submit an application for the transfer of academic credits to the faculty concerned. 

If you have begun your Bachelor’s program in medicine at another university and wish to continue your studies at the University of Zurich, please note the relevant procedure. Please also note that the number of places is limited. Students are thus able to transfer to the University of Zurich, and also have their academic credits transferred, only in a small number of exceptional cases.

Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium

An der Universität Zürich werden zahlreiche Bachelorstudiengänge und -programme angeboten. Je nach Fakultät und Fachbereich studieren Sie innerhalb eines bestimmten Studiengangs ein einziges Studienprogramm (Mono-Studienprogramm) oder kombinieren zwei Studienprogramme (ein Major- und ein Minor-Studienprogramm). 

Die Zulassung zu einem Bachelorstudiengang setzt die Erfüllung der Zulassungsvoraussetzungen voraus. Die Prüfung dieser Voraussetzungen im Rahmen einer Bewerbung dauert ab Vollständigkeit des Dossiers in der Regel bis zu 3 Monate. 

Das gewünschte Bachelorstudium kann im Falle einer Zulassung zudem nur dann aufgenommen werden, wenn die sprachlichen Anforderungen erfüllt sind und keine Zulassungshindernisse vorliegen.

Zulassung mit schweizerischem Vorbildungsausweis

Sofern keine Zulassungshindernisse vorliegen, berechtigen die folgenden Ausweise zur Zulassung zu allen Fakultäten:

  • eidgenössisch bzw. schweizerisch anerkannter gymnasialer Maturitätsausweis, 

  • Maturitätszeugnis der Eidgenössischen bzw. Schweizerischen Maturitätskommission,

  • Bachelordiplom, Masterdiplom, Lizenziat, Diplom, Doktorat einer schweizerischen Universität im Sinne des Bundesgesetzes über die Förderung der Hochschulen und die Koordination im schweizerischen Hochschulbereich,

  • Abschlusszeugnis eines mindestens dreijährigen ordentlichen Studiengangs einer Fachhochschule oder Pädagogischen Hochschule im Sinne des Bundesgesetzes über die Förderung der Hochschulen und die Koordination im schweizerischen Hochschulbereich,

  • eidgenössisches oder vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) anerkanntes liechtensteinisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandene Ergänzungsprüfung,

  • gesamtschweizerisch anerkanntes Fachmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandene Ergänzungsprüfung.


Sofern keine Zulassungshindernisse vorliegen, berechtigen die folgenden Ausweise zur Zulassung zu allen Fakultäten mit Ausnahme der Medizinischen Fakultät und der Vetsuisse-Fakultät:

  • Maturitätszeugnis der Zürcher Kantonalen Maturitätskommission, 

  • Zeugnis über die bestandene Aufnahmeprüfung der Universität Zürich, 

  • Lehramtsmaturitätszeugnis und Abschlusszeugnis von Unterseminaren des Kantons Zürich, 

  • schweizerische Lehramtsmaturität und Primarlehrerpatent, wenn die Dauer der gesamten Ausbildung mindestens 12,5 Jahre betragen hat (davon mindestens vier Jahre an einer Mittelschule),

  • kantonales Sekundar- oder Bezirkslehrerdiplom,

  • Zeugnis über die bestandene umfassende Aufnahmeprüfung an eine Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, sofern dieses nicht älter als zwei Jahre ist.

 

Sofern keine Zulassungshindernisse vorliegen, berechtigt zusätzlich die Handelsmatur des Kantons Tessin (Attestato cantonale di maturità commerciale) zur Zulassung zur Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und zur Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Zulassung mit ausländischem Vorbildungsausweis

Zulassung mit ausländischen gymnasialen Reifezeugnis
Die Zulassung zu allen Fakultäten mit einem ausländischen gymnasialen Reifezeugnis setzt Folgendes voraus:

  • Das Ausbildungsziel der gymnasialen Oberstufe (Sekundarstufe II) bestand ausschliesslich darin, auf ein Universitätsstudium vorzubereiten. Zudem vermittelt das Reifezeugnis im Herkunftsland die allgemeine Hochschulreife.

  • Das Reifezeugnis entspricht hinsichtlich des Ausbildungsinhalts und der Ausbildungsdauer einem schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturitätsausweis. Einzelheiten dazu finden Sie in § 16 des Zulassungsreglements.

  • Je nach Zeugnistyp muss ggf. zudem eine von der Universität Zürich festgelegte Mindestgesamtnote erreicht worden sein.

Ein ausländisches gymnasiales Reifezeugnis eines Signatarstaates der Lissabonner Konvention, das einem schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturitätsausweis hinsichtlich des Ausbildungsinhalts und der Ausbildungsdauer nur teilweise entspricht, kann die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium dennoch ermöglichen, sofern zudem ein Nachweis über mindestens zwei erfolgreich absolvierte Studienjahre (gemäss Regelstudienplan eines Vollzeitstudiums) vorliegt. Die Studienleistungen müssen im betreffenden Hochschulbereich an einer staatlich anerkannten Universität in einer Studienrichtung, die auch an einer schweizerischen Universität angeboten wird, erworben worden sein. Einzelheiten dazu finden Sie in § 17 des Zulassungsreglements.

Ausländische Reifezeugnisse, die nach einer sowohl allgemeinbildenden als auch berufsspezifischen Ausbildung erworben wurden und ggf. auch zur Ausübung eines spezifischen Berufes berechtigen, werden von der Universität Zürich nicht anerkannt, auch wenn sie im Herkunftsland die allgemeine Hochschulreife vermitteln. 


Ergänzungsprüfung der schweizerischen Hochschulen (ECUS)
Wer über ein ausländisches gymnasiales Reifezeugnis eines Staates verfügt, der die Lissabonner Konvention nicht signiert hat, muss für eine Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium in der Regel zusätzlich die Ergänzungsprüfung der schweizerischen Hochschulen (ECUS) absolvieren und bestehen. 

Die Ergänzungsprüfung wird nur einmal im Jahr im August durchgeführt. Entsprechende Bewerbungen sind daher ausschliesslich für das Herbstsemester möglich. Die Anmeldung für diese Prüfung kann nur über die Universität Zürich im Rahmen einer vorliegenden Bewerbung vorgenommen werden. 


Studienplatznachweis
Besteht im Staat, der das ausländische gymnasiale Reifezeugnis ausstellt, für einzelne Studienprogramme oder für das gesamte universitäre Studium ein selektives Zulassungsverfahren (Numerus Clausus, Aufnahmeprüfung etc.), muss nachgewiesen werden können, dass an einer staatlich anerkannten Universität im Herkunftsland des Reifezeugnisses ein Bachelorstudium in der entsprechenden Studienrichtung aufgenommen werden könnte (Studienplatznachweis).

Der Studienplatznachweis muss für ein Präsenzstudium gelten und in der Regel für dasjenige Semester ausgestellt sein, für das sich eine Person an der Universität Zürich bewirbt.

Bei einem ausländischen gymnasialen Reifezeugnis eines Signatarstaates der Lissabonner Konvention kann ein fehlender Studienplatznachweis mit einer bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfung der schweizerischen Hochschulen (ECUS) kompensiert werden. Die Ergänzungsprüfung wird nur einmal im Jahr im August durchgeführt. Entsprechende Bewerbungen sind daher ausschliesslich für das Herbstsemester möglich. Die Anmeldung für diese Prüfung kann nur über die Universität Zürich im Rahmen einer vorliegenden Bewerbung vorgenommen werden. 


Länderspezifische Zulassungsvoraussetzungen
Auf der Website von swissuniversities ist für die einzelnen Ländern aufgeführt, welches gymnasiale Reifezeugnis unter welchen Voraussetzungen (z. B. Fächerkanon, Studienplatznachweis, ECUS-Prüfung, Mindestgesamtnote, Nachweis über mindestens zwei erfolgreich absolvierte Studienjahre) die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Zürich ermöglicht. 

Die publizierten Zulassungsvoraussetzungen werden jährlich aktualisiert und gelten ausschliesslich für das jeweils auf der Website angegebene Studienjahr. Sie beziehen sich nur auf Reifezeugnisse, die gemäss den aktuell gültigen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen des jeweiligen Landes erworben wurden. Zudem wird vorausgesetzt, dass die gesamte Ausbildung auf Primar- und Sekundarstufe im Bildungssystem des jeweiligen Landes absolviert wurde. Liegen ältere Reifezeugnisse vor oder wurde die Ausbildung auf Primar- und Sekundarstufe in verschiedenen Ländern bzw. Bildungssystemen absolviert, gelten ggf. andere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen. 

Ebenfalls auf der Website von swissuniversities finden Sie die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für das International Baccalaureate und das European Baccalaureate.

Wir bitten Sie um Verständnis, dass wir ausserstande sind, individuelle Bewertungen von Reifezeugnissen vorgängig telefonisch, am Schalter oder per E-Mail vorzunehmen, ohne dass uns Ihre Bewerbung mit den vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen vorliegt. 


Zulassung mit ausländischem Hochschuldiplom
Neben einem ausländischen gymnasialen Reifezeugnis kann die Zulassung zu allen Fakultäten auch mit einem der folgenden Hochschuldiplome erfolgen:

  • Diplom (mindestens Bachelor) einer staatlich anerkannten ausländischen Universität, das von der Universität Zürich als gleichwertig zum entsprechenden schweizerischen Diplom anerkannt wird,

  • Diplom (Bachelor) einer ausländischen Fachhochschule oder Pädagogischen Hochschule eines Signatarstaates der Lissabonner Konvention, das von der Universität Zürich als gleichwertig zum entsprechenden schweizerischen Diplom anerkannt wird.

Sprachliche Anforderungen

Die Hauptunterrichtssprache in allen Bachelorstudienprogrammen ist Deutsch, jedoch können einzelne Module in Englisch oder in weiteren Sprachen angeboten werden.

Fremdsprachige Bewerberinnen und Bewerber müssen nachweisen, dass Sie über Deutschkenntnisse auf mindestens Niveau C1 gemäss der Skalierung des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens (GER) verfügen. 

Die erforderlichen Deutschkenntnisse müssen spätestens vor der Immatrikulation durch ein von der Universität Zürich anerkanntes Sprachzertifikat nachgewiesen werden, sofern kein reglementarisch festgelegter Befreiungsgrund vorliegt. Es wird empfohlen, das Sprachzertifikat bereits bei der Bewerbung einzureichen.

Zulassungshindernisse

Eine Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium ist ausgeschlossen, wenn u. a. eines der folgenden Zulassungshindernisse vorliegt:

  • Die Studiengänge der Medizinischen Fakultät und der Vetsuisse-Fakultät sind zulassungsbeschränkt. Wenn kein freier Studienplatz vorhanden ist, kann keine Zulassung erfolgen. Die Studienplatzvergabe erfolgt über einen von swissuniversitites organisierten Eignungstest. Bitte beachten Sie das entsprechende Bewerbungsverfahren.

  • Die Zulassung zu einem Bachelorstudienprogramm ist in der Regel nicht möglich, wenn zuvor ein fachinhaltlich äquivalentes Studium abgeschlossen wurde.

  • Für Personen, die an der Universität Zürich oder einer anderen Hochschule von einem oder mehreren Studienprogrammen endgültig abgewiesen bzw. gesperrt wurden, ist eine Zulassung zum betreffenden bzw. zu allen nach Massgabe der jeweiligen Fakultät ähnlichen Studienprogrammen auf allen Studienstufen ausgeschlossen.

Wichtige Hinweise zur Bewerbung

  • Der Studienbeginn im Frühjahrssemester ist in zahlreichen Studienprogrammen wie z. B. Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Informatik und Psychologie ausgeschlossen und in zahlreichen Studienprogrammen nur eingeschränkt möglich. Bitte informieren Sie sich deshalb vor einer Bewerbung zum Frühjahrssemester vorgängig in der entsprechenden Studienordnung oder erkundigen Sie sich bei der jeweiligen Studienberatung. Sämtliche Bachelorstudiengänge und -programme können im Herbstsemester begonnen werden.

  • Bitte informieren Sie sich vor einer Bewerbung über den Bewerbungsablauf sowie die einzureichenden Unterlagen und bewerben Sie sich über das Bewerbungsportal. Beachten Sie bitte unbedingt die Bewerbungsfristen

  • Pro Person und Semester wird in der Regel nur eine Bewerbung geprüft. Wir bitten Sie daher, sich für einen Bachelorstudiengang inkl. Studienprogramm bzw. Studienprogramme zu entscheiden und jeweils nur eine Bewerbung abzusenden (Ausnahme: Bewerbung für ein Alternativstudium bei einer Bewerbung für ein Medizinstudium). 

  • Informationen über die Zulassungsbeschränkungen und den Bewerbungsablauf für ein Bachelorstudium in Medizin finden Sie auf unserer Webseite zur Zulassung zum Medizinstudium.

Aufnahmeprüfung

Wer die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für ein Bachelorstudium an der Universität Zürich nicht erfüllt, hat die Möglichkeit, die volle Aufnahmeprüfung der Universität Zürich zu absolvieren. Die Aufnahmeprüfung wird nur einmal im Jahr durchgeführt. Ein allfälliger Studienbeginn ist ausschliesslich im Herbstsemester möglich. 

Eine bestandene Aufnahmeprüfung berechtigt an der Universität Zürich zur Zulassung zu allen Fakultäten mit Ausnahme der Medizinischen Fakultät und der Vetsuisse-Fakultät.

Anrechnung von Studienleistungen

Falls Sie Ihr Bachelorstudium bereits an einer anderen Universität begonnen haben und Ihr Studium an der Universität Zürich fortsetzen möchten, können Sie nach Erhalt des Zulassungsentscheides bei der jeweiligen Fakultät ein Gesuch um Anrechnung von bisherigen Studienleistungen stellen.