Application Deadlines


I missed the application deadline. Can I submit a late application?

No, applications cannot be submitted late. Please see the application deadlines.

Exception: Students with a Swiss university entrance qualification applying to a Bachelor’s degree program can apply late for an additional fee of CHF 300.00, with the application accepted until 31 July for the Fall Semester or 31 January for the Spring Semester (not available for students applying to a Bachelor’s degree program in medicine).

I need a visa for entry and I missed the application deadline for prospective students subject to visa requirements. Can I still submit an application before the regular application deadline?

The application deadlines for students subject to visa requirements must be met in order for students to receive a timely decision on admission for the visa application. If you do not meet the deadline, we recommend that you apply for a later semester.

Please note: For doctoral candidates subject to visa requirements who have been offered a position for their doctoral studies, the visa will generally be requested by the University of Zurich (in this connection, please contact the corresponding faculty or graduate school). The decision on admission generally does not have to be included with the corresponding visa application, meaning the application can be submitted after the application deadline for students subject to visa requirements.

I missed the application deadline for the semester when my position as a doctoral candidate is set to begin. What should I do now?

Apply for the following semester. After receipt of the notice of admission, you can – with the approval of the relevant faculty – retroactively matriculate for the corresponding semester. Please see the information on the website Application Deadlines.

Bewerbungsfristen


Ich habe die Bewerbungsfrist verpasst. Kann ich mich verspätet bewerben?

Nein, eine verspätete Bewerbung ist nicht möglich. Bitte beachten Sie die Bewerbungsfristen.

Ausnahme: Personen mit Schweizer Vorbildung, die sich für ein Bachelorstudium bewerben, haben die Möglichkeit, sich verspätet gegen einen Zuschlag von CHF 300.00 bis 31. Juli für das Herbstsemester resp. bis 31. Januar für das Frühjahrssemester zu bewerben (gilt nicht für Bewerbungen für das Bachelorstudium Medizin).

Ich benötige für die Einreise ein Visum und habe die Bewerbungsfrist für visumspflichtige Studieninteressierte verpasst. Kann ich mich dennoch bis zur regulären Bewerbungsfrist bewerben?

Die Bewerbungsfrist für visumspflichtige Studierende muss zwingend eingehalten werden, um den Zulassungsentscheid rechtzeitig für die Beantragung des Visums zu erhalten. Wenn diese Frist bereits verstrichen ist, empfehlen wir Ihnen, sich für ein späteres Semester zu bewerben.

Achtung: Bei visumspflichtigen Doktorierenden, die für Ihr Doktoratsstudium eine Anstellung angeboten bekommen haben, wird das Visum in der Regel von der Universität Zürich beantragt (wenden Sie sich diesbezüglich bitte an die entsprechende Fakultät oder Graduate School). Dem entsprechenden Visumsantrag muss der Zulassungsentscheid in der Regel nicht beigelegt werden, so dass in diesen Fällen auch eine Bewerbung nach der Bewerbungsfrist für visumspflichtige Studierende erfolgen kann.

Ich habe die Bewerbungsfrist für dasjenige Semester, in dem meine Anstellung als Doktorand/in beginnt, verpasst. Wie soll ich nun vorgehen?

Bewerben Sie sich für das Folgesemester. Nach Erhalt der Zulassung kann bei Zustimmung der betreffenden Fakultät die Immatrikulation für das betreffende Semester nachträglich vorgenommen werden. Beachten Sie bitte die Angaben auf der Webseite Bewerbungsfristen.