Admission to the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education Program

The University of Zurich offers the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education degree program in three options:

  • With one teaching subject
  • With two teaching subjects (primary and secondary subjects)
  • With an additional teaching subject (possible only if the prospective student already holds a teaching diploma for upper secondary education)

The following teaching subjects are available: Biology, Chemistry, Economics and Law (cannot be combined with a secondary subject), Education/Psychology, English, French, Geography, German, Greek, History, Informatics, Italian, Latin, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Religion, Rhaeto-Romanic (as a secondary subject only), Russian and Spanish. 

Further information on the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education degree program and on the individual teaching subjects can be found on the Institute of Education website (in German). 

Besides meeting the formal admission requirements, you must also fulfill the relevant academic admission requirements to be admitted to the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education program. Once you have submitted a complete application dossier, it generally takes up to three months to check that you meet these requirements. 

Application Process
Application Process
Application Process

If you are admitted, you can only start your chosen Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education program once you have met the relevant language requirements.

Formal Admission Requirements

  • Master’s and, as a rule, also a Bachelor’s diploma from a state-accredited university. The Master’s diploma does not necessarily have to be available at the time of application. If you are admitted, it may be submitted at a later date (by 30 September at the latest for admissions for the Fall Semester, by 15 March at the latest for admissions for the Spring Semester).
  • Credits for any transferred coursework must also have been acquired at a state-accredited university.
  • Individuals who are currently matriculated at the University of Zurich for a Master’s degree program in a subject area corresponding to their chosen teaching subject(s) may begin their chosen Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education program before they have acquired their Master’s diploma (i.e. studying in two degree programs). However, the Master’s diploma must be gained before the Teaching Diploma will be awarded.
  • Individuals who would like to take an additional teaching subject must already hold a teaching diploma for upper secondary education.

Academic Admission Requirements

  • The Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees must have been earned in an academic discipline that corresponds to the chosen teaching subject(s). 
  • If the academic admission requirements are not fully met, restrictions and/or conditions (in the form of Bachelor’s or Master’s modules) may be imposed.
  • Conditions must be met in a preparatory phase within the framework of your Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education studies. Students cannot book Teaching Diploma modules during this preparatory phase.
  • Anyone who has been definitively expelled or barred from the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education degree program, or from one or more teaching subjects, at the University of Zurich, is excluded from being admitted to this program or teaching subject.
  • Anyone who has been definitively expelled or barred from an upper secondary school teaching degree program, or from one or more teaching subjects, at another higher education institution, is excluded from being admitted to the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education degree program or to the corresponding teaching subject at the University of Zurich. 

The subject-specific admission requirements for the individual teaching subjects can be found on the Institute of Education website (in German).
 

Language Requirements

Foreign-language applicants must prove that they have the necessary German skills of at least level C1 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages scale (CEFR)

Evidence of the necessary German skills must be supplied prior to matriculation at the latest, in the form of a language certificate recognized by the University of Zurich. It is advisable to submit the relevant language certificate with the application.

Important Information on Applying

  • Before you apply, please find out about the application procedure and documents to be submitted and apply via the application portal. Please be sure to note the application deadlines.
  • Please also note that only one application for the Teaching Diploma for Upper Secondary Education degree program will be assessed per person, per semester. We therefore ask you to submit only one application at a time.
  • Studying in two degree programs at the University of Zurich: Anyone who is matriculated at the University of Zurich for a Master’s degree program, and who would like to begin the corresponding Teaching Diploma for Secondary Education program in parallel, must also apply for their chosen program (see above point). The additional Teaching Diploma program cannot be applied for via “My Requests” on the student portal. 
  • Anyone who is matriculated at the University of Zurich for a Master’s degree program, and who wishes to transfer to the corresponding Teaching Diploma program after completing their Master’s studies, must request a change of degree program via “My requests” on the student portal. They must not submit an application. Please be sure to note the relevant deadlines.

Zulassung zum Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen

An der Universität Zürich wird der Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen in folgenden drei Varianten angeboten:

  • mit einem Unterrichtsfach
  • mit zwei Unterrichtsfächern (erstes und zweites Unterrichtsfach)
  • mit einem zusätzlichen Unterrichtsfach (nur möglich, wenn bereits ein Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen vorliegt)

Es stehen folgende Unterrichtsfächer zur Auswahl: Biologie, Chemie, Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Geographie, Geschichte, Griechisch, Informatik, Italienisch, Latein, Mathematik, Pädagogik/Psychologie, Philosophie, Physik, Rätoromanisch (nur als zweites Unterrichtsfach), Religion, Russisch, Spanisch, Wirtschaft und Recht (kann nicht mit einem zweiten Unterrichtsfach kombiniert werden). 

Weitere Informationen zum Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen und zu den einzelnen Unterrichtsfächern finden Sie auf der Webseite des Instituts für Erziehungswissenschaft

Die Zulassung zum Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen setzt neben der Erfüllung der formalen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen die Erfüllung der fachwissenschaftlichen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen voraus. Die Prüfung dieser Voraussetzungen im Rahmen einer Bewerbung dauert ab Vollständigkeit des Dossiers in der Regel bis zu 3 Monate

Bewerbungsprozess
Bewerbungsprozess
Bewerbungsprozess

Das gewünschte Lehrdiplomstudium kann im Falle einer Zulassung zudem nur dann aufgenommen werden, wenn die sprachlichen Anforderungen erfüllt sind.

Formale Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

  • Master- und in der Regel auch Bachelordiplom einer staatlich anerkannten Universität. Das Masterdiplom muss zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung noch nicht zwingend vorliegen. Es kann im Falle einer Zulassung nachgereicht werden (bei Zulassungen zum Herbstsemester spätestens bis zum 30. September, bei Zulassungen zum Frühjahrssemester spätestens bis zum 15. März).
  • Allenfalls angerechnete Studienleistungen wurden ebenfalls an einer staatlich anerkannten Universität erworben.
  • Personen, die an der Universität Zürich derzeit im Masterstudiengang der dem Unterrichtsfach bzw. den Unterrichtsfächern entsprechenden Fachrichtung immatrikuliert sind, können mit dem entsprechenden Lehrdiplomstudium starten, bevor sie über das Masterdiplom verfügen (Doppelstudium). Der Erwerb des Lehrdiploms setzt aber den vorgängigen Erwerb des Masterdiploms voraus.
  • Personen, die ein zusätzliches Unterrichtsfach absolvieren möchten, müssen bereits über ein Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen verfügen.

Fachwissenschaftliche Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

  • Das Bachelor- und Masterstudium muss in einer Fachwissenschaft absolviert worden sein, die dem jeweiligen Unterrichtsfach entspricht. 
  • Wenn die fachwissenschaftlichen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen nicht vollumfänglich erfüllt sind, können Auflagen und/oder Bedingungen (bestehend aus Bachelor- oder Mastermodulen) auferlegt werden.
  • Bedingungen sind im Rahmen des Lehrdiplomstudiums in einer Vorbereitungsphase zu erfüllen. In der Vorbereitungsphase können Studierende keine Lehrdiplommodule buchen.
  • Für Personen, die an der Universität Zürich vom Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen bzw. von einem oder mehreren Unterrichtsfächern endgültig abgewiesen bzw. gesperrt wurden, ist eine Zulassung zu diesem Studiengang bzw. Unterrichtsfach ausgeschlossen.
  • Für Personen, die an einer anderen Hochschule von einem dem Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen entsprechenden Studiengang bzw. von einem oder mehreren Unterrichtsfächern endgültig abgewiesen bzw. gesperrt wurden, ist eine Zulassung zum Studiengang Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen bzw. zu einem entsprechenden Unterrichtsfach an der Universität Zürich ausgeschlossen.

Die für das jeweilige Unterrichtsfach geltenden fachspezifischen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen finden Sie auf der Webseite des Instituts für Erziehungswissenschaft.

Sprachliche Anforderungen

Fremdsprachige Bewerberinnen und Bewerber müssen nachweisen, dass Sie über Deutschkenntnisse auf mindestens Niveau C1 gemäss der Skalierung des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens (GER) verfügen. 

Die erforderlichen Deutschkenntnisse müssen spätestens vor der Immatrikulation durch ein von der Universität Zürich anerkanntes Sprachzertifikat nachgewiesen werden. Es wird empfohlen, das Sprachzertifikat bereits bei der Bewerbung einzureichen.

Wichtige Hinweise zur Bewerbung

  • Bitte informieren Sie sich vor einer Bewerbung über den Bewerbungsablauf sowie die einzureichenden Unterlagen und bewerben Sie sich über das Bewerbungsportal. Beachten Sie bitte unbedingt die Bewerbungsfristen.
  • Beachten Sie bitte, dass pro Person und Semester nur eine Bewerbung für das Lehrdiplomstudium geprüft wird. Wir bitten Sie daher, jeweils nur eine Bewerbung abzusenden.
  • Doppelstudium an der Universität Zürich: Wer an der Universität Zürich in einem Masterstudiengang immatrikuliert ist und parallel dazu mit dem entsprechenden Lehrdiplomstudium starten möchten, hat sich ebenfalls für das gewünschte Lehrdiplomstudium zu bewerben (siehe Punkt oben). Das gewünschte zusätzliche Lehrdiplomstudium kann nicht über «Meine Anträge» im Studierendenportal beantragt werden. 
  • Wer an der Universität Zürich in einem Masterstudiengang immatrikuliert ist und nach Abschluss des Masterstudiums ins entsprechende Lehrdiplomstudium übertreten möchte, hat zwingend über «Meine Anträge» im Studierendenportal einen Studiengangswechsel zu beantragen und keine Bewerbung einzureichen. Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die entsprechenden Fristen.