Complete Application Form, Upload Documents, Pay Application Fee


The document I’d like to upload is not being accepted. Why is this?

There are various reasons why you may not be able to upload a document.

Please note the following restrictions on documents that are submitted:

  • Maximum size of the individual files: 20 MB
  • Only PDF files are accepted, except for the passport photo. The passport photo must be uploaded in .jpg or .png file format.
  • Special characters or umlauts in file names (ä, ö, ü, %, etc.) are not accepted, or will result in an error in the file name. If you have any umlauts in your file names, write them out instead (e.g. ae and oe, as in the Maturitaetsausweis [upper secondary school-leaving certificate]). Please do not upload any PDFs of diplomas or references that you have simply photographed. These documents should be scanned instead.

I receive a message telling me that the AHV number I’ve entered is not correct. However, the number is the same as the one on my insurance card.

If you have already been admitted to study at the University of Zurich, the application portal will recognize the AHV number entered for your previous admission as already allocated and display an error message if you try to enter it again.

Make sure you answered "Yes" to the question "Previous matriculation at a higher education institution?" If you have mistakenly selected "No: First matriculation," even though you have previously been admitted to study at the University of Zurich, you must create a new application. Once you have entered and saved an application, this information can no longer be changed. In the new application, please select the correct answer.

After entering the student ID number from your first admission, the error message will no longer appear for the AHV number and you can submit the application.

Submitting my application by clicking on "Save and Pay" doesn’t work. I’m being asked to enter my student ID number, but I don’t have one, because I’ve never studied in Switzerland.

Please check the information you entered in the "Summary Choice of Studies" and "Information Related to Studies" sections of your application:

For an application for a Bachelor’s program:

You must answer the question "Previous matriculation at a higher education institution?" with "No: First matriculation" or "Yes: Only foreign higher education institution." If you answer "Yes: Swiss higher education institution (addtl. foreign institution)," the system will assume that you have previously been matriculated at a Swiss university, and thus hold a student ID number.

  • Once you have entered and saved an application, this information can no longer be changed. Please create a new application and select the correct answer. The "Student ID number" field will then no longer appear in the application form. You can now submit the application.

For an application for a Master’s or teaching diploma program, or doctoral studies:

Answer the question about your qualification for the selected academic level with "Foreign qualification." If you answer "Swiss qualification," the system will assume that you have previously been matriculated at a Swiss university, and thus hold a student ID number.

  • This information can no longer be changed once you have entered and saved an application. Please create a new application and select the answer "Foreign qualification."

In addition, you must answer "No" to the question "Previous matriculation at a higher education institution?"

  • You can change this answer in the application you have entered and saved. If you have answered the previous question correctly, you can now submit the application without indicating the student ID number.

I don’t have a credit card or a PostFinance card. How can I pay the application fee and submit the application?

You can use a prepaid card instead of a traditional credit card to pay the application fee online and submit the application. You cannot submit the application without paying the application fee online.

You can obtain a prepaid card as follows:

  • At your bank: Youth packages and banking packages for students usually include the option of obtaining a prepaid card. This option is either free of charge or available at a very low cost.
  • As a Swiss Bankers Travel Cash card: You can obtain this card from various banks without a bank account. Please see the information about locations where you can obtain the card as well as the terms and conditions at www.swissbankers.ch/en/products/travel/.
  • At a k kiosk: Please see the information about k kiosk locations as well as the terms and conditions at www.kkiosk.ch/de/products/detail/?id=299.

I’m not sure if my payment for the application fee has gone through. The payment process was interrupted.

Please check your payment status in the application portal. After submitting the application, wait 5 to 10 minutes, log out of the application portal and then back in to allow the information to be updated.

Then open your application and click on the "Fees" tab. If your payment is successful, your application fee status will read "Online payment authorized." If the payment has not gone through, please try again by clicking on "Repeat payment" on the bottom right of the application portal screen. Your application will only be processed if the application fee has been paid.

Onlineformular ausfüllen, Dokumente hochladen, Bewerbungsgebühr bezahlen


Das Dokument, das ich hochladen möchte, wird nicht akzeptiert. Woran kann das liegen?

Verschiedene Gründe können dafür verantwortlich sein, dass das Hochladen eines Dokuments fehlschlägt.

Beachten Sie bitte die folgenden Einschränkungen zu den einzureichenden Dokumenten:

  • Max. Grösse der einzelnen Dateien: 20 MB
  • Es werden nur PDF-Dateien akzeptiert, ausser für das Passfoto. Dieses muss zwingend im Dateiformat .jpg oder .png hochgeladen werden.
  • Sonderzeichen und Umlaute in Dateinamen (ä, ö, ü, % etc.) werden nicht akzeptiert oder führen zu Fehlern im Dateinamen. Schreiben Sie Umlaute in Dateinamen daher aus (z. B. ae, oe, wie in Maturitaetsausweis).
  • Bitte laden Sie keine PDF-Dateien von abfotografierten Diplomen und Zeugnissen hoch, sondern scannen Sie die Dokumente ein.

Nach Eingabe der AHV-Nummer wird die Meldung angezeigt, dass die Nummer nicht korrekt sei. Sie entspricht aber der Nummer auf meiner Versichertenkarte.

Wenn Sie bereits durch eine frühere Bewerbung zum Studium an der UZH zugelassen wurden, erkennt das Bewerbungsportal die damals eingegebene AHV-Nummer als bereits vergeben und gibt eine Fehlermeldung aus.

Prüfen Sie bitte, ob Sie die Frage "Waren Sie je an einer Hochschule immatrikuliert?" mit "Ja" beantwortet haben. Wenn Sie fälschlicherweise "Nein: Erstimmatrikulation" gewählt haben, obwohl Sie schon einmal eine Zulassung zum Studium an der UZH erhalten haben, müssen Sie eine neue Bewerbung anlegen. Sie können diese Angabe in der bestehenden, gespeicherten Bewerbung nicht mehr ändern. Wählen Sie in der neuen Bewerbung die korrekte Antwort.

Nach Eingabe der bei der Erstzulassung vergebenen Matrikelnummer können Sie die Bewerbung ohne die Fehlermeldung bei der AHV-Nummer absenden.

Das Absenden der Bewerbung durch Klick auf "Speichern und Zahlen" schlägt fehl. Ich werde aufgefordert, die Matrikelnummer anzugeben. Da ich aber nie in der Schweiz studiert habe, besitze ich keine Matrikelnummer.

Bitte überprüfen Sie Ihre Angaben in den Abschnitten "Zusammenfassung Studienwahl" und "Studienbezogene Angaben" in Ihrer Bewerbung.

Bei einer Bewerbung für ein Bachelorstudium:

Die Frage "Waren Sie je an einer Hochschule immatrikuliert?" muss entweder mit "Nein: Erstimmatrikulation" oder mit "Ja: Nur ausländische Hochschule" beantwortet werden. Die Antwort "Ja: Schweizer Hochschule (und zusätz. ausländische)" setzt eine frühere Immatrikulation an einer Schweizer Hochschule und somit den Besitz einer Matrikelnummer voraus.

  • Sie können diese Angabe in der bestehenden, gespeicherten Bewerbung nicht mehr ändern. Bitte legen Sie eine neue Bewerbung an und wählen Sie die korrekte Antwort. Das Feld "Matrikelnummer" erscheint dann nicht mehr im Bewerbungsformular. Sie können die Bewerbung nun absenden.

Bei einer Bewerbung für ein Master-, Doktorats- oder Lehrdiplomstudium:

Die Frage "Vorbildungsausweis für die gewählte Studienstufe" muss mit "Ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis" beantwortet werden. Die Antwort "Schweizer Vorbildungsausweis" setzt eine frühere Immatrikulation an einer Schweizer Hochschule und somit den Besitz einer Matrikelnummer voraus.

  • Diese Angabe kann in der bestehenden, gespeicherten Bewerbung nicht mehr geändert werden. Bitte legen Sie eine neue Bewerbung an und wählen Sie die Antwort "Ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis".

Zudem muss die Frage "Waren Sie je an einer Schweizer Hochschule immatrikuliert?" mit "Nein" beantwortet werden.

  • Diese Antwort können Sie direkt in der bestehenden, gespeicherten Bewerbung ändern. Wenn Sie die vorangehende Frage korrekt beantwortet haben, können Sie die Bewerbung nun absenden, ohne eine Matrikelnummer angeben zu müssen.

Ich habe weder eine Kreditkarte noch die PostFinance Card. Wie kann ich die Bewerbungsgebühr bezahlen resp. die Bewerbung trotzdem einreichen?

Sie können anstatt einer klassischen Kreditkarte eine Prepaid-Karte verwenden, um die Bewerbungsgebühr online zu bezahlen und die Bewerbung absenden zu können. Ein Einreichen der Bewerbung ohne Online-Bezahlung der Bewerbungsgebühr ist nicht möglich.

Die Prepaid-Karte können Sie wie folgt erwerben:

  • Bei Ihrer Bank: Jugendpakete und Bankpakete für Studierende beinhalten meist die Möglichkeit, eine Prepaid-Karte zu beziehen. Diese sind entweder gebührenfrei oder sehr günstig.
  • Als Swiss Bankers Travel Cash-Karte: Diese Karte können Sie ohne Kontoverbindung bei diversen Banken beziehen. Beachten Sie bitte die Angaben zu den Bezugsstellen und den Konditionen unter www.swissbankers.ch/de/produkte/travel/.
  • Am Kiosk: Beachten Sie auch hier die Angaben zu den Bezugsstellen und Konditionen unter www.kkiosk.ch/de/products/detail/?id=299.

Ich bin nicht sicher, ob die Bezahlung der Bewerbungsgebühr funktioniert hat. Der Zahlungsprozess wurde abgebrochen.

Bitte überprüfen Sie den Zahlungsstatus im Bewerbungsportal. Warten Sie nach Absenden der Bewerbung zunächst 5 bis 10 Minuten, loggen Sie sich aus dem Bewerbungsportal aus und wieder ein, damit die Daten aktualisiert werden können.

Öffnen Sie dann die Bewerbung und klicken Sie auf den Reiter "Gebühren". Nach erfolgreicher Zahlung lautet der Status der Bewerbungsgebühr "Onlinezahlung autorisiert". Falls die Zahlung nicht erfolgreich war, veranlassen Sie diese bitte erneut, indem Sie im Bewerbungsportal unten rechts auf den Button "Zahlvorgang wiederholen" klicken. Ihre Bewerbung wird nur bearbeitet, wenn die Bewerbungsgebühr bezahlt wurde.