Supplementary program for professional practice for persons with a foreign degree in chiropractic medicine

Persons who hold a diploma in accordance with the Ordinance of the FDHA on Recognised Study Courses in Chiropractic at Foreign Universities of 20 August 2007  can be admitted to the state examination (Federal examination in Chiropractic) by the Medical Professions Commission MEBEKO, provided they have previously acquired 60 ECTS credits at a Swiss university in one of the disciplines of human medicine, chiropractic, dentistry, pharmacy or veterinary medicine.

At the University of Zurich, it is possible to complete the required 60 ECTS credits in the practical year (6th year of study) of the admissions restricted Master's degree program in Chiropractic Medicine as part of the supplementary program for professional practice.

Requirements

Admission to the supplementary program for professional practice requires that

  • you have Swiss or Liechtensteinian citizenship or a residence status defined by the University of Zurich s. Admission to Degree Programs in Medicine
  • be able to present the formal decision of the Medical Professions Commission MEBEKO on admission to the federal examination,
  • meet the language requirements (German or French level C1),
  • pass the Clinic Entrance Exam and
  • free study places are available.

Procedure

1. Contact the Medical Professions Commission MEBEKO and inform them that you are seeking a place in the 6th year of study in Chiropractic Medicine at the University of Zurich in order to take the Federal Examination in Chiropractic. The MEBEKO will then issue you with the formal decision on your admission to the Federal Examination. For further information please contact MEBEKO: MEBEKO-Ausbildung@bag.admin.ch.

2. Submit an online application via the UZH application portal by 29 February 2020. Choose the degree program "Master of Chiropractic Medicine (RVO20)" and the study program "Chiropractic Medicine". In the section "Complete the Application", please write the note " Supplementary program for professional practice" in the field "Additional Comments".
With the online application you must submit the following documents:

  • Signed declaration of consent (PDF, 57 KB)
  • Current photo, in color, aspect ratio 3:4, image size at least 400x533 pixel for the UZH Card. Please make sure that the aspect ratio is correct, and edit the photo if necessary. Your head should be photographed in a frontal pose against a neutral background providing good contrast, and it should take up about 80% of the photo.
  • Copy of official identification (passport or ID). Please scan the front and back of your ID.
  • CV
  • Your diploma in chiropractic medicine
  • Formal decision of the Medical Professions Commission MEBEKO on admission to the federal examination
  • Copy of residency papers required to study medicine (except for CH or LI citizens) Please see Merkblatt Aufenthaltsstatus
  • Foreign-language applicants: language certificate German or French level C1 recognised by the University of Zurich

3. Completion of the Clinical Entrance Exam in Zurich.
Attention: Participation in the Clinical Entrance Exam is only possible if you have submitted all of the documents listed above with your online application (step 2) by 29 February 2020.

4. If all requirements are met, you will receive the admission decision for the supplementary program for professional practice from the Admissions Office of the University of Zurich. As soon as you have enrolled at the University of Zurich, you can start your practical year.

Ergänzungsprogramm zur Berufsausübung für Personen mit einem ausländischen Abschluss in Chiropraktischer Medizin

Personen, die über ein Diplom gemäss der Verordnung des EDI über die anerkannten Studiengänge für Chiropraktik ausländischer universitärer Hochschulen vom 20. August 2007 verfügen, können von der Medizinalberufekommission MEBEKO zum Staatsexamen zugelassen werden (Eidgenössische Prüfung in Chiropraktik), sofern sie zuvor an einer schweizerischen Universität 60 ECTS Credits in einer der Disziplinen Humanmedizin, Chiropraktik, Zahnmedizin, Pharmazie oder Veterinärmedizin erworben haben.

An der Universität Zürich besteht die Möglichkeit, die erforderlichen 60 ECTS Credits im Praktischen Jahr (6. Studienjahr) des zulassungsbeschränkten Masterstudiengangs Chiropraktische Medizin im Rahmen des Ergänzungsprogramm zur Berufsausübung zu absolvieren.

Voraussetzungen

Die Zulassung zum Ergänzungsprogramm zur Berufsausübung setzt voraus, dass

  • Sie über die schweizerische oder liechtensteinische Staatsbürgerschaft oder über einen von der Universität Zürich definierten Aufenthaltsstatus verfügen,
  • den formellen Entscheid der Medizinalberufekommission MEBEKO über die Zulassung zur eidgenössischen Prüfung vorweisen können,
  • die sprachlichen Anforderungen (Deutsch/Französisch Niveau C1) erfüllen,
  • das Clinic Entrance Exam bestehen und
  • freie Studienplätze vorhanden sind.

Verfahren

  1. Wenden Sie sich an die Medizinalberufekommission MEBEKO und teilen Sie ihr mit, dass Sie einen Studienplatz im 6. Studienjahr in Chiropraktischer Medizin an der Universität Zürich anstreben, um danach die Eidgenössische Prüfung in Chiropraktik abzulegen. Die MEBEKO wird Ihnen daraufhin den formellen Entscheid über die Zulassung zur eidgenössischen Prüfung ausstellen. Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte die MEBEKO: MEBEKO-Ausbildung@bag.admin.ch.
  2. Reichen Sie bis zum 29. Februar 2020 im Bewerbungsportal der UZH eine Onlinebewerbung ein. Wählen Sie dabei den Studiengang „Master of Chiropractic Medicine (RVO20)“ und das Studienprogramm „Chiropraktische Medizin“. Im Abschnitt „Abschliessen der Bewerbung“ schreiben Sie bitte im Feld „Zusätzliche Bemerkungen“ den Hinweis „Ergänzungsprogramm zur Berufsausübung“ hin.
    Mit der Onlinebewerbung müssen Sie zwingend die folgenden Unterlagen einreichen:
    • Unterschriebene Einverständniserklärung (PDF, 57 KB)
    • Aktuelles farbiges Passfoto, im Seitenverhältnis 3:4, Grösse mind. 400x533 Pixel für die UZH Card. Bitte achten Sie auf das richtige Seitenverhältnis und editieren Sie Ihr Foto, wenn nötig. Das Gesicht muss frontal und gegen einen gut kontrastierenden, neutralen Hintergrund fotografiert sein und sollte etwa 80% der Fläche einnehmen.
    • Kopie eines amtlichen Ausweises (Pass oder Identitätskarte). Bitte die Vor- und Rückseite der Identitätskarte einscannen.
    • Lebenslauf/CV
    • Hochschulzeugnis: Ihr Diplom in Chiropraktischer Medizin
    • Formellen Entscheid der Medizinalberufekommission MEBEKO über die Zulassung zur eidgenössischen Prüfung
    • Kopie der für das Medizinstudium erforderlichen Aufenthaltspapiere (Gilt nicht für Staatsangehörige CH oder FL). Bitte beachten Sie das Merkblatt Aufenthaltsstatus
    • Bei fremdsprachigen Personen: von der Universität Zürich anerkanntes Sprachzertifikat Deutsch oder Französisch Niveau C1.
  3. Absolvieren des Clinical Entrance Exam in Zürich. Achtung: Eine Teilnahme am Clinical Entrance Exam ist nur möglich, wenn Sie zuvor bis zum 29. Februar 2020 mit Ihrer Onlinebewerbung (Schritt 2) sämtliche der oben aufgeführten Unterlagen eingereicht haben.
  4. Wenn alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, erhalten Sie von der Zulassungsstelle der Universität Zürich den Zulassungsentscheid für das Ergänzungsprogramm zur Berufsausübung. Sobald Sie sich an der Universität Zürich immatrikuliert haben, können Sie mit dem Praktischen Jahr starten.